Almost all commercial vehicles are designed to carry 10 thousand pounds of load. Due to the abnormal weight of these load the vehicles may be exposed to pressure leading to tearing and wearing of pivotal parts of the vehicle. This calls for DOT Inspection.

What is DOT Inspection?

DOT inspection is a special kind of inspection usually conducted by an agency designated by the government under the Department of Transport to ascertain that all the Commercial vehicles are up to the set standard and all the vital accessories are in good condition and will not fail or break down while the vehicle is in movement.

Levels of DOT Inspection

There are six major levels of DOT Inspection. Vehicle security inspection can be done by either an inspector or a police. The levels are as follow and explains of what really happens at each specific level.

Level I

The level is also referred to as North American Standard Inspection The legal inspector or state police officer confirms that the driver behind the steering wheel of the commercial motor vehicle has the necessary documents. The documents include driving license, daily log, inspection report and medical card. Apart from the documents the driver is also checked if he/she is under the influence of any drugs or carrying any drugs in the vehicle. Dangerous materials are also checked at this level. The following parts are also inspected to make sure they are effectively working and will not break down while the vehicle is being driven, to mention just a few.
  • Safe belt
  • Brakes
  • Exhaust system
  • Headlights and all the other lamps
  • Safe loading
  • Tires

Level II/Walk around driver

This is the second step of inspection. It is somehow similar to the first level, however the inspection officer will not check the physical parts mentioned in the first level. Here vehicle safety assessment takes place. It involves two mandatory checks which are the provider of the equipment mentioned in the first level. The components must be quality and from a recognizable dealer.

Level III

The driver is thoroughly inspected at this level. An in-depth check of the following a must have equipment is done. For the driver to pass the level he/she must have all the equipment functioning well.
  • License
  • Medical card
  • Daily log
  • Safety belt
  • Hazmart requirements

Level IV

The level is synonymously referred to as special inspection and lives up to its name. There is an in-depth look at a particular feature of the vehicle under question. The reason for focusing on one particular feature is to do away with a claim or an allegation concerning that particular feature.

Level V

This is the inspection of the vehicle only. At this level a check of all the features of the vehicle that had been done at level I is repeated. The level can be conducted from any location, it has no special location, just like level I. Vehicle security test is done at this level.

Level VI

Here there is inspection of shipment of radioactive materials. For any vehicle to be subjected under this inspection it must have passed level I.

How do you pass all the Inspection Levels?

Well, the answer is simple. Prepare your commercial motor vehicle and yourself by having quality equipment from credible and genuine dealers and make sure to have all the necessary documents of the vehicle and yourself. Also make sure to adhere to the DOT regulations.